B2B Awards

At the B2B post-ride dinner, we annually recognize two individuals with awards named in honour of two leaders who are historically important to Baycrest, the community, and the B2B ride.

Marty Richman Award

Martin Richman Sept 27, 1936- November 18, 2015

The Committee of the B2B Ride is proud and honoured to announce the creation of the Marty Richman Award (presented to the Top Individual Fundraiser).

This award, and Marty himself, join the illustrious company of the only other two B2B awards and the important and generous people they are named for: The Harold Lederman Award and the Sam Ruth Award.

Marty Richman, a father of the B2B, is justly credited with taking B2B to an entirely new level of fundraising for the thousands of our older men and women who rely on the specialized programs the B2B funds and supports at Baycrest.

Even to this day, the enigmatic “Marty” still sits as the highest all-time fundraiser having personally raised over $500,000.

A truly amazing level of commitment that many cite as a driver of their own wonderful efforts to fundraise.

(Individual fundraising totals only. Team fundraising contributions will not be tabulated.)

Harold Lederman Award

Harold Lederman was a long-serving member of the Baycrest Foundation’s Board of Directors and was Chair from 1994 to 1997. He was a firm believer in giving back to the community and acts of tzedakah or charitable giving. Since 2001, the Harold Lederman Award has been awarded to Baycrest supporters who employ that same iconic leadership. The recipients below have all shown exceptional leadership and advancement within the community, Baycrest and the B2B ride.

Past award winners:

2016: TBA
2015: Daniel Winberg
2014: Larry Saltsman
2013: Warren Kimel
2012: David & Maureen Tartick and Robyn Ptasznik
2011: Steven Menkes and Lawrence Zishe Wittlin
2010: Lisa Draper and Michael Bregman
2009: Peter Seligman
2008: Ron Golden and Ellen Levine
2007: Todd Beallor
2006: Howard Wise
2005: Marty Richman
2004: Joe Gottdenker
2003: Garnet Rich
2002: Sam Ruth
2001: Peter Menkes

Sam and Nancy Ruth Award

Sam Ruth was Baycrest’s CEO from 1956 to 1980 and then became the first president of the Baycrest Foundation. He was especially proud of the continuum of care at Baycrest, and he was dedicated to developing our impressive education and research programs.

As a booster of B2B, Sam truly demonstrated his lifelong commitment to Baycrest. In fact, he participated in the 100-kilometre ride at the age of 80!

Like Sam, the recipients below have shown exceptional commitment to the advancement of therapeutic care and fitness programs through the B2B ride.

Past award winners:

2016: TBA
2015: Debbie Kimel
2014: David Sliwin
2013: Larry Saltsman, Michelle Lavine, Susan Feldman, Stan Feldman, Jon Feldman, Garnet Rich & Michael Bregman
2012: Josh Eisen
2011: Molline Green
2010: Michael Diamond
2009: Richard Cooper
2008: Stuart Schipper
2007: Michael Levy

Sponsorship information
About Baycrest

Baycrest is an academic health sciences centre fully affiliated with the University of Toronto

Contact Us