Skip to main content
  • Dr. Sid Feldman received a prestigious award from Osteoporosis Canada
    Dr. Feldman has been selected as the 2021 recipient of the Lindy Fraser Award by Osteoporosis Canada. This prestigious award recognizes Dr. Feldman’s sustained efforts and contributions in research and education in the field of osteoporosis. Earlier this year, Dr. Feldman also received the University of Toronto’s Department of Family and Community Medicine Award of Excellence as Academic Family Physician of the Year.
  • Dr. Jed Meltzer awarded prestigious Canada Research Chair post
    Dr. Jed Meltzer, scientist at Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute, was named Canada Research Chair in Interventional Cognitive Neuroscience. During his five-year term, Dr. Meltzer aims to accelerate the development of promising treatments for incurable brain diseases and disorders.
  • Dr. Gordon Winocur named the 2017 Donald O. Hebb Distinguished Contribution Award
    Dr. Gordon Winocur, senior scientist at Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute (RRI), was named the 2017 Donald O. Hebb Distinguished Contribution Award winner for his significant contribution to the study of brain, behaviour, and cognitive science.
  • Dr. Randy McIntosh awarded ORION Leadership Innovation Award
    Dr. Randy McIntosh, former Vice President of Research at Baycrest and Director of the Rotman Research Institute (RRI), was recognized for outstanding innovation through his work leading the Virtual Brain Project, an international collaboration to develop the world’s first integrated computer model of a fully functioning human brain. 
  • Dr. Jean Chen appointed Canada Research Chair in Neuroimaging of Aging
    Dr. Jean Chen was announced as Canada Research Chair in Neuroimaging of Aging for a five-year term, a position that recognizes researchers who are acknowledged by peers as a potential leader in their field. Dr. Chen’s work strives to alert doctors earlier of a person’s risk of developing certain brain diseases, such as Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, mini-strokes (transient-ischemic attacks) and stroke. 
  • RRI Founding Director named Officer of the Order of Canada
    The Founding Director of Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute (RRI), Dr. Donald Stuss, was named an Officer of the Order of Canada (O.C.) for his “contributions as an internationally respected neuropsychologist who has expanded scientific understanding of brain function, injury and rehabilitation.”
  • Rotman Associate Scientist awarded International Neuropsychological Society INS Early Career Award
    Dr. Shayna Rosenbaum, associate scientist at Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute (RRI), received the prestigious International Neuropsychological Society (INS) Early Career Research Award for her contributions towards a better understanding of the relationship between the brain and behaviour.
  • RRI pioneer inducted into American Academy of Arts & Sciences
    Dr. Fergus Craik, senior scientist at the Rotman Research Institute, was inducted into the American Academy of Arts & Sciences for demonstrated excellence in the field of psychology. His work has greatly impacted our understanding of how memories are created and how memory changes with age. 
  • Dr. Shayna Rosenbaum receives the 2013 CAN Young Investigator Award
    The Canadian Association for Neuroscience (CAN) awarded Dr. Shayna Rosenbaum, from York University, and adjunct scientist at Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute (RRI), the CAN 2013 Young Investigator Award.
  • Dr. Morris Moscovitch honoured as a distinguished scientist
    Dr. Morris Moscovitch received the inaugural Distinguished Career Contributions Award in 2012 from the Cognitive Neuroscience Society (CNS). The award honours senior cognitive neuroscientists for their distinguished career, leadership and mentoring in the field of cognitive neuroscience. Dr. Moscovitch, a professor of psychology at the University of Toronto, is also a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and holds the Glassman Chair in Neuropsychology and Aging. He has conducted research on face and object recognition in young and old adults and in people with specific brain injuries that selectively affect their ability to recognize faces, objects or words.
  • Dr. Sandra Black appointed to the Order of Canada
    Rotman Research Institute senior scientist Dr. Sandra Black was appointed to the Order of Ontario. She was selected for being “one of the world’s pre-eminent cognitive neurologists specializing in stroke and dementia, and the visionary leader behind the Ontario Stroke System, designed to improve stroke care from prevention to rehabilitation and reintegration.” 
  • Dr. Thecla Damianakis receives honours as an emerging researcher
    Dr. Thecla Damianakis, adjunct scientist, received the 2011 University of Windsor Award for Excellence in Research Scholarship, and Creative Activity. Dr. Damianakis won this award in the Emerging Scholar/Researcher category.  Her research initiatives include the development and evaluation of interventions which support caregivers of people with Alzheimer’s, Parkinson’s, Stroke, Traumatic Brain Injury and Bereavement.
  • Post-doctoral fellows receive honours and awards
    Dr. Nigel Gopie, post-doctoral fellow alumnus was selected as a “Rising Star” by the Association for Psychological Science. Dr. Gopie advanced his research through his training with RRI scientists Drs. Fergus Craik and Lynn Hasher.

    Dr. Eve Attali, post-doctoral fellow at Baycrest’s Rotman Research Institute was awarded the Marie Curie International Outgoing Fellowships, supported by a 3-year grant from the European Commission, for her project with RRI scientist Dr. Asaf Gilboa.
  • Dr. Asaf Gilboa awarded the 2011 Donald T. Stuss Annual Award for Research Excellence
    Dr. Gilboa received this award for his paper, “Rapid neocortical acquisition of long-term arbitrary associations independent of the hippocampus” published in PNAS and co-authored with his student, Tali Sharon and with Dr. Morris Moscovitch.
  • National Academy of Neuropsychology (NANI) Lifetime Contribution to the Neuropsychology Award
    Dr. Donald Stuss was the 2011 recipient of the Award in recognition of his extraordinary contributions.
  • Nate Rose and Nigel Gopie receive the Age+ Prize from the Canadian Institutes of Health Research
    Nate Rose received the prize for his paper, “Age and individual differences in prospective memory during a “Virtual Week”: The role of working memory, vigilance, task-regularity, and cue-focality” in Psychology and Aging by Nate Rose, P. Rendell, M.A. McDaniel, I. Aberle, and M. Kliegel.

    Nigel Gopie’s award was based on the publication, “Destination memory impairment in older people,” by Nigel Gopie, Gus Craik, & Lynn Hasher in Psychology and Aging.
  • Brad Buchsbaum awarded the NARSAD Young Investigator Award
    Brad Buchsbaum received a NARSAD young investigator award. The title of the grant is “Auditory-Motor Connectivity During Inner Speech: A Window into the Neural Basis of Auditory Hallucinations in Schizophrenia.”